Settings

Top  Previous  Next

Restorer Ultimate settiongs may be specified on the Settings dialog box. To reach this box, click Options -> Settings on the Task List.

Main

Click to enlarge
Main dialog box
Click to expand/collapseMain settings

System Options

Enable Write

If this check box is selected, Restorer Ultimate enables you to write any changes made in the Text/Hexadecimal Editor.

Debug Mode

If this check box is selected, Restorer Ultimate displays an additional command Create FS Snapshot on the shortcut menu for an object with a file system. An FS Snapshot contains system data for the file system only (file descriptions without file contents). If a problem appears, this snapshot can be sent to Restorer Ultimate technical support to identify the problem. This option greatly slows Restorer Ultimate.

Notifications

Reset all hidden notifications

This button enables all previously disabled notification and warning messages.

User's file types

File name

Specifies a file name and path to the file where the descriptions of user's known file types are stored. You need to re-start Restorer Ultimate or click the Reload User's File Types button on the Known File Types tab for the new file to take effect.

User's RAID layout

File name

Specifies a file name and path to the file where the descriptions of user's RAID layouts are stored

File Systems

Click to enlarge
File Systems dialog box
Click to expand/collapseFile Systems

Default encoding for HFS volumes

Select the national encoding for the HFS partitions.

Default encoding for Ext2/Ext3/Ext4/UFS volumes

Select the national encoding for the Ext2, Ext3, Ext4, and UFS partitions.

Disable any sorting

Select this option if the number of files on the disk is so large that Restorer Ultimate  sorts files in selected folders for too long time.

Minimize disk access

Select this option if a lot of bad sectors are on the hard drive.Restorer Ultimate will reduce access to internal files in the file system to speed up the interpretation of file system data.

Show deleted empty folders

Select this option if you want to view empty deleted folders.

Log

Click to enlarge
Log dialog box

Click to expand/collapse Log options

Type


File

If this check box is selected, Restorer Ultimate logs all events with recovered files.

File System

If this check box is selected, Restorer Ultimate logs all events with the file system.

Partition

If this check box selected, Restorer Ultimate logs all events with partitions.

Recover

If this check box is selected, Restorer Ultimate logs all events with the recovering processes.

Disk

If this check box is selected, Restorer Ultimate logs all events with disks.

Network

If this check box is selected, Restorer Ultimate logs all events with network operation.

Severity

 

Error

If this check box is selected, Restorer Ultimate adds error messages into its log.

Warning

If this check box is selected, Restorer Ultimate adds warning messages into its log.

Information

If this check box is selected, Restorer Ultimate adds information messages into its log.

Success

If this check box is selected, Restorer Ultimate adds success messages into its log.

NEVER WRITE A LOG FILE ON THE DISK FROM WHICH YOU RECOVER DATA!!!

Or you may obtain unpredictable results and lose all your data.

Save log to file

If this check box is selected, Restorer Ultimate writes its log into a log file specified in the File location: field.

Rewrite/Append

Select it if you want to rewrite a log file, or append log information to this file.

Save as

You may select the encoding for the log file. You may select ANSI, UNICODE, or UTF8.

Note: If in the Recover dialog box the Condense successful restoration events check box is selected, the Log will display only Error, Warning, and Information event messages.

Raw File Search

Click to enlarge
Raw File Search dialog box

You may specify which files will be enabled/disabled by default.

Bad Sectors

Click to enlarge
Bad Sectors dialog box
Click to expand/collapseBad Sectors settings

Default read attempts

Specifies a default value for I/O Tries, or how many times Restorer Ultimate will try to read a bad sector.

Restorer Ultimate treats bad sectors in the following way:

It reads a certain part of disk (predefined by Windows) and

If Default read attempts is set to 0, the entire part with bad sectors will be filled with the specified pattern.
If Default read attempts is set to a non-zero value, Restorer Ultimate reads again that part sector by sector, repeating the attempts the specified number of times. If Restorer Ultimate still cannot read a bad sector, it fills the sectors with the specified pattern. In this case only the bad sectors will be filled with the pattern, but that extremely slows the disk read process.

For example, if you set Default read attempts to 1, a bad sector will be read 2 times.

Pattern to fill bad blocks

Specifies a pattern Restorer Ultimate will use to fill bad sectors in files to recover, in images, or when showing data in the Text/Hexadecimal Editor. You may specify the pattern either in the ANSI or Hex data format.

Note: Restorer Ultimate will never ever try to write anything on the disk from which data is to recover or an image is to create.

Memory Usage

Click to enlarge
Memory Usage dialog box
Click to expand/collapseMemory Usage settings

Disable memory control

Disables the memory control. If Restorer Ultimate consumes too much memory during processing a huge file system, the program may become unstable or even freeze.

Automatic

Enables automatic memory usage control. When the memory usage reaches the specified amount, Restorer Ultimate will begin file enumeration in parts.

When the memory usage reaches the specified value,  stops showing the enumerated files and the There is not enough process memory... message appears. You may even ignore the message and try to see the entire disk file structure, or abort the file enumeration and see the file structure in parts. You may resume file enumeration by clicking the Open Next button on the toolbar.